Graduate Students

  • Aditya Bahl

    abahl5@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Contemporary Poetry and Poetics, Marxism, Critique of Political Economy, Negative Dialectics, Continental Philosophy, French Philosophy

  • Aaron Begg

    abegg1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 20th- and 21st-century American poetry; poetics of the long downturn

  • Royce Best

    rbest5@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Early Modern and Eighteenth-Century Literature and Drama, Disability Studies, Performance Studies, the Dumb Show, Shakespeare

  • Joel Childers

    jmchilders@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Romanticism and modernism; modernity and intellectual history

  • Mitchell Cram

    mcram1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests:  20th-century poetry, Marxism and theory, science fiction

  • Nathan Doherty

    ndohert1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Early Modern studies as seen through the lense of current eco-political discourse(s) surrounding the Anthropocene and the porous montage of topics parametized therein

  • Noelle Dubay

    ndubay1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 19th C American spiritualism; contemporary queer investments in the occult

  • Joseph Aurelio Giardini

    jgiardi1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 20th Century Poetics, Political Economy, Queer Theory

  • John Hoffmann

    jhoffm43@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Global Modernism; British, American, German Modernism; Aesthetics; Critical Theory; Romanticism and the Counter-Enlightenment; History of Ideas; Film and Media Studies

  • Tobias Huttner

    thuttner@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 20th- and 21st-century poetry and poetics; poetry and political economy; poetry and social struggle; critical race studies; the 21st-century University

  • Gloria Jirsaraie

    gjirsar1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: African American literature; critical race theory; black feminism; intellectual history

  • Samreen Kazmi

    samreenfkazmi@gmail.com

    Research Interests: Postcolonial and Comparative literatures, British literature (Victorian and early 20th century), narratology, novel theory, genre theory, Marxism, South Asia

  • Nora Elisabeth Lambrecht

    nlambre1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 20th- and 21st-century British, Irish, and American literature and culture; transnational and interdisciplinary modernist studies; media studies; critical theory

  • Sungmey Lee

    slee370@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Nineteenth-Century British Novel, Sensational Novel, Gender, Affect, Modernity, Religion and Secularization

  • Alex Lewis

    alewis73@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Renaissance literature, Milton, Shakespeare, Nashe, history and theory of allegory, 19th/20th century Russian literature and critical theory, poetry and poetics

  • Evan Loker

    eloker1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 19th and 20th century American; Mexican and Brazilian Literature; Political Economy; History of Capitalism; Sports and Social History

  • Alexandra Lossada

    alossad1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 20th-Century American literature, with emphasis on Southern literature and writer Tennessee Williams

  • Atesede (Sede) Makonnen

    amakonn1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Shakespeare, comedy, violence, transformative fiction, race and gender studies

  • Thai Matthews

    tmatth20@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Medieval folktale and literature, the British Empire as reflected in literature, anti-colonial historicism

  • Daniel McClurkin

    dmcclur9@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Renaissance and Early Modern Literature, Genre Theory, Classical Reception, John Milton, Melancholy, Medicine and Literature

  • Katarina O’Briain

    kobriai1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: eighteenth-century poetry and poetics; craftsmanship; georgic; realism; political economy

  • Samanda Robinson

    srobin88@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: African American literature, Women's and Gender studies, Feminist/womanist literature, speculative fiction, magical realism and Afrofuturism

  • Sarah Ross

    sross30@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: nineteenth-century British literature; women, gender, sexuality; material and book history

  • John Sampson

    jsampso5@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 19th and 20th century American literature and culture; urban history; political philosophy

  • Connie Scozzaro

    cscozza1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Early modern literature, issues of feminism and critical theory

  • Alex Streim

    astreim1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: Poetry and Poetics, 20th and 21st Century American Literature

  • Erica Tempesta

    etempesta@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: American Literature, African American Literature, Naturalism, Law & Legal Studies, Labor Literature

  • Robert Tinkle

    rtinkle1@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: early modernity, drama, performance theory, religion and literature

  • Jarvis Young

    jyoun123@jhu.edu

    Research Interests: 19th and 20th century American and African American Literature; genre theory, abjection and paralysis, black body politics