Skip Navigation

English Department Directory


Jump to: | Faculty | Visiting Faculty | Joint Appointments | Professors Emeritii | Postdoctoral FellowsEWP | MSE Library LiaisonGraduate Students | Staff |

See our current office hours.

Faculty

Sharon Achinstein
Professor (Starting July 1, 2014)

Areas of interest:

email - TBD
(410) 516-xxxx

Sharon Cameron
William R. Kenan Jr. Professor of English

Areas of interest: American literature, American poetry

scameron@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7553

Drew Daniel
Assistant Professor
Areas of interest: early modern literature, critical theory, aesthetics

drewdaniel@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4075

Jared Hickman
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Assistant Professor

Areas of interest: American literature in Atlantic/world context; literatures and cultures of Atlantic (anti)slavery; political theology, religion, and secularization; critical race studies; theories of historicism

jhickman@jhu.edu
(410) 516-3843

Jonathan Kramnick
Professor

Areas of interest: Eighteenth-century literature, literature and philosophy, and literature and science

kramnick@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4103

Douglas Mao
Professor

Areas of interest: British, Irish, and U.S. poetry and fiction since 1860; interdisciplinary study of modernism

dougmao@jhu.edu
(410) 516-7335

Christopher Nealon
Professor

Areas of interest: American literature, aesthetic theory, poetry and poetics, the history of sexuality

nealon@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6046

Jesse Rosenthal
Assistant Professor 

Areas of interest: Victorian literature, narrative theory,ethics and narrative,digital humanities

jrosenthal@jhu.edu
(410) 516-5168

Eric Sundquist
Department Chair
Andrew W. Mellon Professor of the Humanities

Areas of interest: American literature and culture, including African American and Jewish American; literature of the Holocaust

ejs@jhu.edu
(410) 516-1103

Mark Christian Thompson
Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor

Areas of interest: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century African-American, German and French literature; the history and representation of race in literature and philosophy; political philosophy; aesthetics; art theory

mcthompson@jhu.edu
(410) 516-6237

 

 
  

Joint Appointments
Back to top

John Irwin
Decker Professor in the Humanities
(primary appointment in the Writing Seminars)

Area of interest: American literature

jirwin@jhu.edu
(410) 516-8929

Professors Emeriti

Back to top

Frances Ferguson
Professor Emerita

ferguso1@uchicago.edu

Allen Grossman
Andrew W. Mellon Professor Emeritus of the Humanities

agrossman@jhu.edu 

Neil Hertz
Professor Emeritus

hertz@jhu.edu

Ronald Paulson
William D. and Robin Mayer Professor Emeritus in the School of Arts and Sciences

pauls_r@jhu.edu

Larzer Ziff
Caroline Donovan Professor of English Emeritus, Research Professor

lziff@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4172

Postdoctoral Fellows

Back to top

Adam Grener

ACLS New Faculty Fellow
adamgrener@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: 

Nineteenth-century British literature, narrative theory, history of the novel, the historical novel, Anglo-Irish and Scottish literatures

(410)516-5845

 

 

Expository Writing Program


Patricia Kain
Director of Expository Writing Program, Teaching Professor

kain@jhu.edu | EWP Web Site

William Evans
Senior Lecturer, Expository Writing Program

wdevans@jhu.edu | EWP Web Site

Anne-Elizabeth Murdy Brodsky
Lecturer, Expository Writing Program

aembrodsky@jhu.edu | EWP Web Site

 

Marie O'Connor
Lecturer, Expository Writing Program

moconnor@jhu.edu| EWP Web Site

 

George Oppel
Lecturer, Expositotory Writing Program
goppel1@jhu.edu | EWP Web Site

 

Aliza Watters
Lecturer, Expository Writing Program

awatter3@jhu.edu| EWP Web Site
 

MSE Library Liaison

Heidi Herr
Librarian for English and The Writing Seminars
hherr1@jhu.edu | Library Guide
(410) 516-8540
MSE Library, Level M, Room 9

Graduate Students (2013 - 2014)

Back to top

First Year

Aaron Begg
abegg1@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: 20th-century American and British Poetry; poetics of the long downturn

Noelle Dubay
ndubay1@jhu.edu

Tobias Huttner
thuttner@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: 20th- and 21st-century North American and British Poetry

Samreen Kazmi
skazmi1@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: Victorian, Postcolonial and Comparative Literatures; sympathy, ethics and cognitive mapping; narratology; the Novel and political realisms; South Asia.


Sungmey Lee
sungmerz@gmail.com
Areas of interest: Nineteenth-century British literature, Narrative Theory, Korean poetry during Japanese colonial period

Robert Tinkle
Rtinkle1@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: Restoration/18th-Century drama and poetics


Second Year

John Hoffmann
jhoffm43@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: Interests: Late Victorian, Fin-de-siecle, Modernist literature; Poetics

Third Year

Nora Lambrecht
nlambre1@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: 20th-century British, Irish, and American literature and culture; modernist studies

Katarina O'Briain
kobriai1@jhu.edu
Areas of interest:

Kevin Roberts
kevinroberts@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: Early Modern Literature; political philosophy; psychoanalysis

John Sampson
jsampso5@jhu.edu
Areas of interest:

Fourth Year

Matthew Flaherty
mflaher7@jhu.edu
Areas of interest: Nineteenth-century British literature, realism, narratology, theory of the novel, the ethical turn, Hegelian dialectics.

Grant Shreve
gshreve1@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: Nineteenth-century American Literature, Theory of the novel, Pragmatism, Religion and Literature

Fifth Year

Rebecca Buckham
rbuckha1@jhu.edu 
Areas of interest: early modern literature, ecocriticism, gardens, pastoral and georgic, influence of scientific and technological developments on early modern understandings of the self-world relationship

 

Joseph Haley
joseph.haley@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: nineteenth- and twentieth-century poetry, technology and collectivity, religion and atheism, psychoanalysis, cognitive science and learning
 

William Cook Miller
wmille32@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: 17th and 18th century literatures; relations of theology, science, and language; the history of capitalism in England.
 

Erica Tempesta
etempesta@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: 19th & 20th century American literature; African American literature; naturalism & modernism ; poetry & poetics


 

Christopher Westcott
cwestcott@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: 20th-century American and British poetry, critical theory and philosophy, modern and postmodern cultural tactics, the avant-garde

 

Amanda Zecca
azecca1@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: 20th and 21st-century American poetry and poetics; visual art and literature; the experimental-lyric hybrid; the pastoral mode in contemporary poetry; the Objectivist poets (specifically Lorine Niedecker and George Oppen); the "Berkeley Renaissance"; Black Mountain; poetic communities

Sixth Year
   

Elizabeth Brogden (non-resident)
elizabeth.brogden@jhu.edu

 

Jacob Chilton
jichilton@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: Early Modern English poetry, with a particular enthusiasm for Milton; philosophy and literary theory, predominantly the French poststructuralists and the first generation Frankfurt School
 

Roger Maioli
rogermaioli@gmail.com

Areas of interest: Eighteenth-Century Literature; Empiricism and the Rise of the Novel
 

Jennie Hann
jhann3@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: Victorian literature and culture; poetry, the novel, and lyric-narrative hybrids; the periodical press; book history and reception theory; cognitive science and nineteenth-century psychology; transatlantic influences

 Nan Zhang
nzhang@jhu.edu

 Areas of interest: modernist studies; British intellectual history, political thought and cultural life; comparative ethics; 19th and 20th century literature, the Woolfs and the Bloomsbury group, James Joyce

Seventh Year

Nicholas Bujak
nbujak1@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: Romanticism, poetics, the Novel and novel theory

 

Robert D. Day

robertdday@gmail.com

Areas of interest: Modernism (especially the novel) and modern literary intellectual culture, the history of cultural criticism, and political rhetoric

 

Patrick Fessenbecker
pfessen1@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: Victorian literature, American literature in the nineteenth century, and connections between philosophy and literature generally; particularly interested in reading nineteenth-century novels against a background of contemporary and more recent works philosophical ethics, and thus analyzing the nature of moral deliberation and selfhood

 

Douglas Tye
dtye1@jhu.edu

Areas of interest: 19th Century American literature, francophilic theory, and scouring texts for sexual overtones where probably none were intended

Kara Wedekind
kara.wedekind@gmail.com

 
 

Advanced Graduate Students

 

Robert Higney
robert.higney@gmail.com

Areas of interest: modernism and realism, political and aesthetic theory, and ideas about character and institutional life in the novel from 1900-1950; has taught courses on the literature of the American South, on the family and politics in the novel, and on British literature of World War II

 

Andrew Sisson
asisson1@jhu.edu

 

Beth Steedley
Director of Writing Center

steedley@jhu.edu

 

Anthony Wexler
wexler.anthony@gmail.com

Areas of interest:  Postwar American literature and culture, including Jewish American; literature of the Holocaust

Staff

Back to top

Sally Hauf
Administrative Manager
shauf@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4313
14 Gilman Hall

Nicole Goode
Senior Academic Program Coordinator
ngoode@jhu.edu
(410) 516-4311
3 Gilman Hall

Timothy Giglitto
Senior IT Specialist
timothy@jhu.edu
(410) 516-3362
40A Gilman Hall

 

Style DIV, please skip.

Style DIV, please skip.